Well Now…..

What are your thoughts on these?

The Metropolitan Museum of Art – Accessory set.

I hadn’t seen these before. As over shoes go, if these were common, I would love to have a pair.

The MET has them listed as an 1825-30 accessory set – “By the 1820s, ankle boots were becoming the favored daytime footwear for ladies in both the United States and Europe, especially for outdoor wear. Like the shoes of the time, however, fashionable boots were often constructed of thin and flimsy materials, which made walking on cobbled or unpaved roads torturous. As a minor concession to utility, this pair of thin-soled boots is paired with a matching set of pattens which provide a heavier sole for walking. Pattens were basically utilitarian, hence it is somewhat unusual for them to survive in good condition, and even rarer to find a pair matching the boots with which they were worn.”

 

Published in: on April 9, 2013 at 8:35 am  Comments (3)  

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like those a lot. There were a pair of pattens on display at GCV several years ago (they could still be there for all I know – I’d have to look), but they were earlier and of metal. I remember thinking they would be fun to try on, but I don’t think I’d like to walk in them for a long ways.

  2. They’re odd! I’ve never seen these before for this period, but it makes sense. I suppose it’s quite plausible that they were often worn out and discarded. Thanks for sharing!

    Best,
    Quinn

  3. I looked at a few photos of pattens today. I completely agree about not wanting to walk a long distance in them. This pair doesn’t look too bad.
    I need to look into the fading of pattens and the emergance of rubber overshoes more. (I find it interesting this pattern appears, at this point, to mimic the timing of a similar patern for another item of my interest.)


Leave a Reply

