Skirt Choices

I keep changing my mind. For my Netherfield Ball dress, should I….
Put this solid gold pattern panel down the center? It is a bit geometric in feel. It isn’t symetrical. It does have omph.

image

OR
Put the ‘field’ of closely spaced motifs in the front with the loosely spaced motif around the back? I think this will move nicely.

image

Comments Very welcome.

Green dress update – Skirt assembled and set. I’m hoping to get a good portion of the hem done as well.

10 o’clock update – Thanks to stumbling upon a playing of Mansfield Park, the green skirt is faced & hemmed. Bodices cut tomorrow.

Published in: on May 8, 2013 at 7:43 pm  Comments (4)  

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First of all, that is gorgeous fabric. Second of all, I think I’d go for the second option. 🙂

  2. I like the second choice, too. 🙂 I think we’re on the same wavelength here (probably something about being named Anna). 😉

  3. Agreed. It would bother me that the center panel would be asymmetrical if you went with option 1, and I think that, as you said, option 2 will move better.

    Best,
    Quinn

  4. Thank you ladies. I think three votes for option 2 is a solid selection of option 2.
    When looking at the sari last night, I realized I need to be ubber careful with the length. Right now, when I take the top, also partial, border off, the bottom just skims the top of my foot.
    I am so excited about this dress.


Leave a Reply

