Mother’s Day at Genesee Country Village & Museum

I was very pleased when mom asked to go to the museum for Mother’s Day. Here are some of the highlights. (I will save you from my inablity to take runway photos. But, I assure you the fashion show was wonderful.)

 

IMG_3553

First stop was the gallery to see the Green Collection. It was neat to see that mom had to open every drawer and read every label. While mom got her first look at the collection, I took a closer look at some of the men’s Regency clothing. I also decided I simply must find some horsehair braid. Silly, fabulous 80s.

IMG_3560

Mom particluarly enjoyed the kerchiefs. Her favorite is the upper left.

IMG_3573

Of course the quilts in the lobby caught our attention. Grandma spent so many years quilting at the museum. She enjoyed working on the “A Stitch in Time” project.

IMG_3575

If you are in the area, come out the the museum next Sunday for Red Day. I’ll be finishing up my dress this week, so I can volunteer on this fun day. I am going to get a few copies of “A Stitch in Time” signed.

IMG_3580

Each time we stepped into a village kitchen we could smell chocolate and get a taste. Heritage Chocolate is available in the gift shop and on the museum’s website (www.gcv.org) If you haven’t had a chance to taste this chocolate, I highly recommend it. If I have to pick, the small balls of chocolate with a hint of orange at Livingston was my favorite.

It was off to the fashion show after a stroll by all the animals.

 

Published in: on May 12, 2013 at 6:43 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

Leave a Reply

