Violets in Early Spring

This bonnet is one I have slowly been working on for a while. It really does remind me of those tiny violets that peek up in the early spring. Sometimes they are a speckle of color in the grass; sometimes a speckle in the lingering spring snow. (Btw – I’m amazed by the abundance of white violets in our yard. So, I was glad I had white violets to mimic that too.)
image

This bonnet is a white and ivory organza silk organza woven in a windowpane check design, drawn on cane over light weight buckram. The brim also has some fluffy flounces.
image

The lilac purple silk ribbon comes from Italy. It is a beautiful ribbon both in looks and feel. The edge is particularly lovely. (I need a photo of that edge.)
image

image

You can find this bonnet on Etsy this morning with sideways photos. (Phone issues.)
image

image

I have a few other millinery pieces I am anxious to share with all of you. As soon as their new owners have them in hand, I can share.

Published in: on May 25, 2014 at 9:57 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. So pretty! I love that fabric, and the violet and white trimmings. It’s lovely. 🙂

    Best,
    Quinn


Leave a Reply

