My Blue Scallops

I finally finished my scallop brim straw bonnet. I’m rather pleased with how it came out.

image

The straw is the French straw plait with that beautiful golden straw. This is the first scallop edge I did. There have been several since then with a more refined, smooth connection. The shaped and scalloped straw edges from the 1850s and 60s are quite decorative, often with very fine straw. This is the simplest of scallop. I look forward to creating more.

image

The soft crown is a white and ivory windowpane check silk organza (This is the left overs from the drawn organza I share a week ago. This gives you an idea of how long I was working on each of these.) The bavolet is lined with cotton English net.

image

The ribbon is a dark blue German moire.

image

The flowers are ivory velvet roses and smaller, light blue fabric roses. I rather like the little rosebuds because they dangle nicely.

image

image

Published in: on June 3, 2014 at 6:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

Leave a Reply

