This Fall’s FanU Fabric Swaps

It is still a beautiful summer, but I know fall will be here sooner than I like. It is time to start thinking about this fall’s FanU Fabric Swaps!

I know swappers have enjoyed each of the swaps over the past year and a half. It is nice to receive pretty fabrics in the mailbox over the course of a week or so. It is fun to play with the fabrics and see who makes what. 

For this fall, I am thinking of a few fun themes:

  • “Fallen Leaves” – Period fabrics with a leaf motif
  • “All Lined Up in a Row” – Just like a garden, we’ll swap fabrics with motifs all lined up in a row.
  • “I Couldn’t Live Without It!” – We’ve all done it. We just had to have that fabric, it just had to come home with us. And, there it sat. Now, is the chance to swap that fabric. (Or, if somehow you don’t have that piece (or just can’t part with it), pick the “it is just too fabulous!” fabric from your fabric shop to swap.
  • Bonus Swap – The Greene Swap – For those of us with Susan Greene’s book, Wearable Prints, we will be swapping fabrics similar to those in the pages of her book. You do not have to own the book to participate. You can borrow from a friend or the library. There may also be a few helpful hints online.

For the winter swap, I’m toying with the idea of exploring period colors. What do you think?

Published in: on July 23, 2014 at 5:09 pm  Comments (8)  

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like it! It sounds like a lot of fun.

  2. They all sound great to me! When do we start?

  3. I am thinking September, October & November with the Bonus swap early in December. I’ll get the dates & details together asap.

  4. Love it! I’ll be watching for the notices!

  5. Me too! Which one will be first, Anna?

  6. I’ll likely go with the order I wrote them down to keep it easy. I may change my mind though. I do that on occasion. 🙂

  7. Anna, As I have never participated in one of your fabric swaps, what are the requirements? I have materials I don’t want to part with but also haven’t done anything with many of them so maybe it is time for them to more on to someone else. Judy Jett

  8. Hi Judy,
    We would love to have you join us. The requirements are easy. (I’ll have all the details up soon.) I create groups of 8 people from those that sign up. You need a half yard of fabric that fits that swaps theme. You cut this in to 8 9″x9″ pieces. Mail 7 of them to the other members of your group. Sometimes, I get a little creative with the group arrangements so everyone can participate.


Leave a Reply

