Looking Back & Looking Forward – 2014 & 2015

It is that time of year when we think about what we’ve accomplished as we wrap up the current year and about what we want to accomplish in the coming year.

I’d describe my current state as one of a bowl of thought soup churning around not yet sure of what is what.

In 2014….

  • When the year started, I decided I wanted to try to sew a bonnet a week minus two weeks for Christmas, 50 bonnets. Just as Thanksgiving week wrapped up, I passed my goal.
  • That same week I made a new blog daily view record and broke a comment milestone.
  • I developed my millinery impression’s pieces a bit more with a ribbon holder, bonnets stands, a ledger/journal and an colorful interactive.
  • In the fall, I had dual workshop day for the museum’s Domestic Arts Symposium.
  • I, um, broke the planned plan, developed a bigger collection and had to buy more archival boxes.
  • I ran a few series on the blog this year, one surveying the millinery of 1864, another looking newspaper articles written by rural people for rural readers, and “Their Life, Their Words” looking at the every day life of women.
  • We had two sets of Fanciful Utility Swaps, one in the spring and one in the fall that has just sort of kept on going.

In 2015…. I don’t so much have any “New Year’s Resolutions”. I have “things I would like to do”:

  • My big millinery goal is to get the planned plan on paper, in fabric, in film and finally in print or in a lecture hall.
  • As it was such a nice goal, again I am going to set the 5o goal.
  • I want to spend more time in the village and at a couple historic sites.
  • I want to hold another millinery sewing day. (I’d like to eventually hold a millinery retreat.)
  • I want to do an afternoon excursion Canandaigua Lady for a small bunch of us in historic attire. Something relaxing, low-key and pleasant. The Canandaigua steamboats seem to be used for daily commuting into the city and along the lake, allowing us to wear day attire and enjoy each others’ company without stressing before hand.
  • I want to do a few workshops at some point.
  • I have been procrastinating reorganizing, okay flat out re-doing the millinery ribbon blog. Part of me wants to move it again to have a better url. Part of me has no idea when I will find the time. I have a stack, large stack, of posts for that blog I have not done.

What everyone is looking for…. The projects:

  • I am going to hook a rug. Actually, I am going to make a sewn rug (earlier method) and hopefully a hooked version of the same. I really like the idea of doing one in a Baltimore album quilt square style with jewely greens and reds. I sorta started a pinboard.
  • The multiple pieces that go with the above mentioned planned project.
  • I will make one of the coats. I have the black wool and the ivory wool/silk just waiting and waiting. *(though, it would be a good idea to use the black wool for a hood workshop. The slightly felted flannel would make a snuggly warm hood.)
  • I will make something for me. *(This has been lacking in the recent years compared to further previous; one dress a year verses many wardrobe additions.)
Published in: on December 31, 2014 at 2:00 pm  Comments (1)  

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Happy New Year! It looks like you had quite the creative 2014, and I can’t wait to see all your fabulous new projects this year!


Leave a Reply

