New Bonnets Available Today

I listed a couple bonnets today, both for people and for dolls. I also put up the hair combs I am not keeping.

First, is a course straw bonnet. This is different from the usually fashionable straw bonnets I make. It is made from a wider, coarser plait for those doing poorer impressions or several other unique impressions. (Be sure to read “Who Wore Coarse Bonnets”)IMG_6234 IMG_6250

Next, an earlier bonnet for the latter 1840s into the 1850s. This has a circular brim coming forward of the face. I focused the crown’s rise in the back allowing the front of the crown to come straight forward framing the face.

IMG_6209IMG_6216

Here are the pair of straw bonnets for smaller dolls, These are made of the same plait I make the human bonnets from.

IMG_6047

Here are the hair combs…IMG_6269

Published in: on April 26, 2015 at 11:03 am  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dear Anna – when you say “smaller” doll, can you tell me what that would fit? I am looking for bonnets to fit Jen Mescher’s Emily and my own Violet (same size as Emily). Best regards, Susan

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. These would be better for dolls with heads 6 to 7 inches around. I think Emily is 8 or 9 inches, if I remember right. I will be doing bonnets in larger sizes.


Leave a Reply

