Perfectly Pink Straw Hat with Calla Lilies

IMG_7182I’ve had a pink and green hat stuck in my head for weeks. I kept putting it off because I thought I was nuts to want to line the underside of the brim with a multi-color silk. Well, I couldn’t shake it. So, here it is.

It is a little sweet, a little spring and a whole lot of pretty.

IMG_7199The pink and green silk taffeta wraps around the brim edge and lines the underside. To be happy, I had to get the stripes as lined up as possible.

There are two pink silk ribbons. The soft, true pink  the crown with a triple bow in back. A second petal pink ribbon is underneith to help tie the hat behind your hair. IMG_7198

A trio of white velvet calla lilies are the it piece. The velvet has just a touch of pink and the centers are beaded. I set the in a row to emphasize the curve of the hat.

This hat is currently available on Etsy.

IMG_7184IMG_7185 IMG_7189 IMG_7190

Published in: on July 11, 2015 at 4:15 pm  Comments (3)  

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love it but think I’m probably a little long in the tooth for it nor do I think I’d have enough chances to wear it, but it’s just lovely.

  2. Very pretty! Those callas are gorgeous.

    Best,
    Quinn

  3. Reblogged this on If I Had My Own Blue Box: and commented:

    Remember this favorite hat?
    Sadly, it didn’t fit the person who fell in love with it.
    Luckily, this means a second chance for others who loved it.
    https://www.etsy.com/listing/239759578/perfectly-pink-mid-19th-century-straw?ref=shop_home_active_1


Leave a Reply

