Taking Food Stuffs

We are talking about how we take our food to events in the CW Kitchen FB group. This post goes with that discussion. I thought it would be easier to share the photos. This post will likely have more added to it as we go along. Right now, these are just what was on the wall this morning.

These are pieces I use to bring food into weekend events or food related gatherings such as picnics. I am not one who cooks at events. I bring food in that is ready to eat. I tend to be a daily grazer rather than a big meal eater at summer weekend events.

This wider mouth crock is one I use for fruit. It is about 8 inches tall.  It may be good for a thick poarage with a good seal under the wooden lid. If I was to ever cook at an event, I would consider this for flour.  I don't remember the maker of this one.

This wider mouth crock is one I use for fruit. It is about 8 inches tall.
It may be good for a thick poarage with a good seal under the wooden lid. If I was to ever cook at an event, I would consider this for flour.
I don’t remember the maker of this one.

This little guy does not go to events because it was Grandma's. If I had one in the same size, I would use it for preserves.

This little guy does not go to events because it was Grandma’s. If I had one in the same size, I would use it for preserves.

This is a tad blurry.  These are 2 quart and 1 quart pitchers. The one on the left is my go-to event pitcher for water.  Both are from GCV. The left is from the last 5 years. The right is from the 80s.

This is a tad blurry.
These are 2 quart and 1 quart pitchers. The one on the left is my go-to event pitcher for water. I do bring my bottled water into events. For a weekend, I play a gallon per person per day plus one.
Both are from GCV. The left is from the last 5 years. The right is from the 80s.

This is my go-to for when I need to take a little bit of butter. (I'm' not a big butter person) It is just a few inches tall. The way the mouth turns in with the lip is good for covering and tying. I would also use this shape for soft or pounded cheeses in small quantities.  When Lily was small, this was her preferred cup.  This is a Williamsburg gift shop piece. We sold them for a short time at GCV. They were/are relatively inexpensive.  I have a few of these.

This is my go-to for when I need to take a little bit of butter. (I’m’ not a big butter person) It is just a few inches tall. The way the mouth turns in with the lip is good for covering and tying. I would also use this shape for soft or pounded cheeses in small quantities.
When Lily was small, this was her preferred cup.
This is a Williamsburg gift shop piece. We sold them for a short time at GCV. They were/are relatively inexpensive.
I have a few of these.

This is a nice one person pickle crock. It holds a half dozen little pickles. It is also a good size for a single serving of soup or such.  This is a Mark Presher piece. He throws at GCV and privately.

This is a nice one person pickle crock. It holds a half dozen little pickles. It is also a good size for a single serving of soup or such.
This is a Mark Presher piece. He throws at GCV and privately.

This is a nice all purpose crock. The lip on the top makes it easy to tie string around.  I think this is a Williamsburg gift shop piece.

This is a nice all purpose crock. The lip on the top makes it easy to tie string around.
I think this is a Williamsburg gift shop piece.

This crock is good for a large amount of pickles. It can take a quart of homemade easily, or one of the larger grocery store jars. It is a 'vintage' GCV piece.

This crock is good for a large amount of pickles. It can take a quart of homemade easily, or one of the larger grocery store jars. It is a ‘vintage’ GCV piece.

Assorted bowls are nice of course. This is a small 6" diameter bowl.  I find I use the shallow 8" bowl quite a lot. (I'll get a photo of that). I tend to use the 8-9" diameter deeper bowl so much at home, it rarely goes to events.

Assorted bowls are nice of course. This is a small 6″ diameter bowl.
I find I use the shallow 8″ bowl quite a lot. (I’ll get a photo of that). I tend to use the 8-9″ diameter deeper bowl so much at home, it rarely goes to events.

Published in: on July 30, 2015 at 9:25 am  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

