Sew Along – Work Bag – Introduction and Shopping List

wpid-img_63451399129667.jpegWelcome to my very first Sew Along.

The Work Bag Sew Along will begin on January 3rd with the first of the weekly posts guiding us through the steps of making a work bag. Of course, you will need to have all your materials ready. So, here are your shopping lists.

Shopping list for Cotton bag:

  • Fat quarter or 1/4 yard of a lively period cotton print.
  • Fat quarter or 1/4 yard of lining (polished cotton, good muslin or second print.)
  • 2 sheets of pasteboard (8.5″ x 11″)
  • 2-5 yards of 1/2″ to 1″ silk ribbon or 12″ square of silk cut into bias strips and pieced (pleated trim around the flap and handles.)
  • 6″ square of tight weave tropical to light weight wool

Shopping list for Silk bag:

  • Fat quarter or 1/4 yard of a tight weave silk taffeta.
  • Fat quarter or 1/4 yard of lining (polished cotton, good muslin or period print.)
  • 1 sheet of pasteboard (8.5″ x 11″)
  • 6″ square of cotton or wool batting
  • 1 yard of 1/4″ to 1/2″ silk ribbon or cording
  • Optional: Embroidery floss or paint if you choose to decorate your center.

Upcoming posts:

  • Cutting your materials
  • Covering your pasteboard
  • Gauging your bag
  • Lining your bag
  • Finishing your bag

Q&A:

What does the sew along cost? Only what you spend on your materials. There is no additional cost.

Can I use materials from my stash? Of course you can.

What kind of cotton fabric should I use and where can I buy it? The original bag we are working from was a large scale, scenic print with architectural and floral components. in vivid colors. I’ve started a Pinboard with fabrics I think will work well.

Is there a Facebook Group? Yes, there is. ________

Published in: on December 2, 2015 at 6:00 am  Comments (9)  
Tags:

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can’t wait to start. I think this will be fun.

  2. I am looking forward to starting this.

  3. Yippee! Thank you, Anna. I’m looking forward to this too!

  4. Anna – do you have a source for the 1/4″-1/2″ silk ribbon or cording? I have silk ribbon, but it’s for ribbon embroidery and I don’t think it will suit. Thank you for setting this up!

  5. I get my silk ribbon from Carole at The Ribbon Store. She has a shop on Ebay. I usually just email her. (Ribbons at theribbonstore dot com)

  6. Thank Anna – ordered fabric from Reproduction Fabrics. When it arrives I’ll decide what I want for the ribbon/cording. I assume that’s the drawstring or ‘handle?’

  7. It is also decoration around the front.

  8. Then it needs to be heavier rather than flimsy ribbon embroidery weight. And the cording can be couched rather than sewn through?

  9. Yes. Embroidery weight will be too light.


Leave a Reply

