A Week of Sewing Boxes 3

2016-03-28-16.31.15.jpg.jpegAlong with the larger sewing cases, I want to show smaller ones.While ordering some additional tools, I decided to pick up a shell purse to try my hand at one of those cute shell cases.(Ex 1, ex 2, ex 3, )

It couldn’t be that hard.

Wrong.

This will forever be known as the PITA shell.

There were several attempts to glue in velvet and silk linings. None of the attempts worked for me. I was sure tracing around the shell would easily give the right fabric shape. Nope. Nope. I then opted to try to fill it with wool batting that would then be covered with the velvet and edged with soutache. I’ve gone as far as the velvet. I don’t think I’m going to be happy with trying to glue on narrow soutache.

(I really should have done something more like this one, with the bag type pouch and page. The bag fabric would have been so much easier to glue into the shell, while the page could have sewn on)

The shell open.

2016-03-28-16.31.28.jpg.jpeg

The layers of batting…. 2016-03-28-16.31.55.jpg.jpeg

Trying to work the batting into the shell with a felting needle. Not a period technique. Not one that worked anyway.

2016-03-28-17.47.16.jpg.jpeg

Published in: on April 7, 2016 at 11:38 am  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

