Regency Era Straw Millinery Demonstration

With the War of 1812/Jane Austen Event at the Genesee Country Village coming on quickly, the current few weeks of sewing has been all about Regency Millinery. Each of the pieces I’ve been working on are going with me to GCV, where I will be doing a straw millinery demonstration in the Foster-Tuft House. I have also been assembling an assortment of straw plaits, from fine to coarse, for visitors to examine. As someone else will be demonstrating straw plaiting, I may bring a few of the straw decorative elements I’ve been working on.

Here are the pieces that I will have on display. (Each will be available after the event through my Etsy store.)

Chapeaux de Paille with a high crown

Chapeaux  de Paille with a low crown, scalloped shallow brim (spoken for)

Chapeaux de Paille with high crown

Bonnet de Paille in the Poke style

In progress: Chapeaux de Paille with a round crown

20160611_172256.jpg

 

 

 

Some of my previous Regency era millinery

Oh, and since I don’t know where else to put it….. Check out this image that shows a nice hair to cap to bonnet fit.

Published in: on June 12, 2016 at 10:47 am  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ooh, I can’t wait! I’ll be there with a sketching party.

  2. I have to sneak out to peak at the sketching party. I am excited to see period art impressions in the village.


Leave a Reply

