A Touch of Velvet

When I wrote about headdresses in “A Band of Millinette” a few weeks ago I thought maybe I would make a headdress or cap here and there throughout the season. Well, I sorta got carried away. 
Looking at original examples and those in period publications, I find I am drawn to those with structure and form, combined with texture. I love the feel of a good velvet, both visual and tactile. I enjoy the shapes and movement layers of ribbon or feathers can make. I am caught by what beads can do with light.

 I am also finding I prefer refined headdresses that are enhance the wearer rather than overwhelm. I like a headdress that can be put on for dinner and not thought of again until bed time, no fussing or adjusting. 

These last few weeks, I’ve played primarily with velvet and just a bit of lace and beads. With so many ideas dancing around and around in my head and the many materials options, I’ve not only been learning about period techniques, I’ve learned something about myself. With a whole world of materials options at my fingertips via the internet, I can not focus. There are simply too many options which become too many ideas. I enjoy taking the materials in front of me and making them into something more than searching for the materials. But, you are not interested I that. You want to heat about the headdresses.

These first two stem from an original at the Museum of Fine Arts and a couple illustrations. The original is red velvet with three bands, two with lace and a bow on the side. Each of my pieces today have two bands covered in silk/rayon velvet. (The triple is waiting for its beads) While the black one’s bands are even, the red one is graduated, wider at center front. They can easily be worn alone or with a sprig of fresh flowers to one side. 


Next, is a simple black velvet bandeau or coronet. A friend mentioned how much she liked this style. She is right. It is one of my favorites not just for the look but for the ease and versatility of wear. In this piece, the velvet wraps around the base. The bow in back is symmetrical. Similar examples can be found in my pin board. 


Similar to the construction above, this one is in black velvet and green velvet. The base black is in a flat cover rather than wrapped, allowing for the green to control the movement. I rather Love the green and black bow in the back. 


With this pale purple velvet I played with an asymmetrical arrangement. I find the placement fun and following many mid nineteenth century illustrations for an asymmetrical look. This purple velvet completes the three velvet ribbons currently offered by Hyman Hendler. I find this one to be the most bodies and the least soft of the bunch. 


Last for today. I am going to call this one a half bandeau. It combines the soft silk/rayon velvet with the satin back velvet ribbon. The sides are beaded with cut glass beads. The back is a tail less bow. The overall look is rather catchy. 

Now, I have to decide which ones to let go in the Etsy shop.… 

Published in: on February 12, 2017 at 5:18 pm  Comments (3)  

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. They are all beautiful. Like you, the green and the black one is my favorite.

  2. Beautiful creations. Love the green and black velvet.

  3. I love the first two, particularly the black lace one. Just beautiful!


Leave a Reply

