Today’s Millinery 

Tonight I finished a Civil War era straw hat. This hat has just a hint of curve to the brim. It is blocked with an antique crown and brim block. 

I’ve decided this crown block needs a name to make it easier for patrons to find their favorites. This one will be called Delia, as I happen to be watching Angel and think this shape would fit Cordelia nicely. The Delia crown is 21.5″ in circumference, 6.5″ wide and 7.5″ front to back. This will nicely fit those with an average to large head or those who prefer the feel of a rounder crown. *Remember, this era hat is worn higher on the head compared to where we are accustom to for modern wear. 


This hat is available in my Etsy shop.
 

Published in: on February 27, 2017 at 7:46 pm  Comments (4)  

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hahaha, I love that you watch Angel. I would not have expected that. I have enjoyed watching Buffy and Angel all the way through multiple times in my life. 😉 It’s a great sewing show.

    (And of course the hat is lovely!)

    Best,
    Quinn

  2. I love both Buffy and Angel. I also like Firefly. I decided now is a good time to rewatch Angel. Though, I am wondering where seasons 3&4 are hiding.

  3. Hm… The last time I watched it was over 5 years ago, when I was able to find it on random dubious streaming sites. I have no idea where to look for it these days. I hope you find those seasons in a place you can watch them, though! It’s not fun to have to end a show early because you can’t get ahold of later seasons.

  4. Given that we should have two sets of each, the sets should be here somewhere.


Leave a Reply

