Shaker Style Sewing Boxes

Have I mentioned lately how much I love my Shaker style sewing boxes?

I do. They have become my at home and on-the-go go-to. With not feeling well from my gallbladder crankiness, having each of my three, yes, three sewing boxes on hand was great. They are just the right size; each with the tools for their project inside. Nice. Neat. Handy. Organized. Easy to fit on the couch with me. Secure, feline safe lid. And they are pretty. Love them.

Original Shaker sewing boxes are pretty incredible. (I call mine Shaker style because the boxes were made by a local artisan rather than a Shaker.) This one is an original I saw at a local show. The patina for the wood on this box is beautiful. It has a simple, flexible handle, a silk lining and ribbons holding each of the tools in place. I like that this one has an assortment of materials for the tools.

gw

This basket was at the same show. It doesn’t have as much inside. The silk liking really works with the color of the wood. I think it has a golden sunshine effect. I have one handled box I want to do up like this when I have some time.

c

Here is an assortment of Shaker sewing boxes, or carriers as some seem to call them. (I also have a pinboard of them.)

20170108_144122.jpgI do have just two boxes in my Etsy shop for those interested. One is a larger, yellow painted box with a red silk check lining. It has a tray that lifts out from the top. You can put your tools in the top and project below. I did have a client tell me she likes to hide her modern thread spools and directions in the bottom. (SOLD)

img_20170108_143120.jpg

The other is this shallower box with a beautiful wood. Inside is a blue silk lining. I made the compartments so one is flexible to meet the space needs of the tools. I find that scissors fit very nicely there.

Both of these can be found in my Etsy shop. (Yellow or Blue.) They are all hand sewn linings using Fanciful Utility techniques.

Published in: on May 19, 2017 at 6:30 am  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Anna, I was looking at the original Shaker boxes fitted for sewing – the bows on the outside in particular. After following some links I found photos showing that the interior is “fastened” to the box in four places by ribbon that pierces the lining and then both ends come out a hole in the box, then tie in a bow. So pretty! Do you have any detailed photos of this application? I couldn’t quite see if there are worked eyelets in the lining fabric, and whether it is one hole or two holes in the box. I suspect one, and that the knot of the bow prevents pull through. Would this be something appropriate for mid-19th c.?

  2. I wish I had up close photos of those holes. If I did, I’d be trying to recreate them. I’ll work on getting some somehow.
    There are some dated to 1840. So, that would make them appropriate. There is one craftsman who has great detailed diagrams online who dates them only to the 1920s. With so many dated nearly a century earlier, either his dating is for a specific version or region and I didn’t read close enough, or he missed something. Sorry I don’t have that link.
    (Fyi- My linings slide in without a permanent attachment)


Leave a Reply

